Sage X rod. 8, 9 and 10 Wt. Review - Saltwater Fishing Discussion Board Including Inshore Fishing, Offshore Fishing, Saltwater Fly Fishing and Kayak Fishing

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2016, 06:46 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Sage X rod. 8, 9 and 10 Wt. Review

I just returned from the Amazon targeting world class Peacock Bass. Casting for a week straight using large streamers (6 - 9 inches) as well as big Poppers and Pole Dancers. I had just received my X rods prior to the trip so this would be a great chance to really give these rods a work-out. Previously, the bar had been set so I will have them compete against my very much loved Shimano/Gloomis NRX rods I have run for years. As always, my reports and reviews are not short so if you are ADHD or only crave a twitter length review.... Get out now..

A note about me: I am not a professional but I am proficient with a fly rod. I get to fly fish well over a 100 days a year though not always with the big rods. Like most every fly fishing angler I have ever met, I aspire to learn more and get better on every cast, every day and every year. Growing up on the West Coast, fishing Long range and Commercial, I have been testing rods for the Salt Water Spinning and conventional use industry for decades, contributing my insight into rod designs for that industry. HOWEVER, I do not possess the ultra advanced level of fly fishing skill to expertly contribute to the designs of Fly rods. Perhaps this history allows me to present more of a well informed yet more relatable, better than average, lay-person's view of the rods being mentioned and how they will be most often employed by the majority of anglers who are not Master fly Casters.