Newbie boater looking for advice - Saltwater Fishing Discussion Board Including Inshore Fishing, Offshore Fishing, Saltwater Fly Fishing and Kayak Fishing

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2012, 04:02 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Newbie boater looking for advice

Hi all - I just posted a related question in the private boating technical forum but I'm also looking for some non-technical advice so I'm posting here as well

I recently unexpectedly inherited a 20'6" runabout (Tahoe Q6 Ski and Fish w/190HP Mercruiser I/O), but I'm a newbie in terms of private saltwater boating and am pretty clueless both in terms of small boat range/capabilities and fishing spots in the LA area (I'm in MDR).

For starters, I have no sense as to the ocean capabilities of a boat like this - should I stick to inshore or can I go further out, and in what kind of conditions? Is Catalina feasible? I'd rather not find out the hard way that I've bitten off more than the boat can chew, so I'd rather err on the conservative side.

Beyond where I can go, where should I go for fishing? Is the MDR harbor worth fishing or should I skip it and go elsewhere? I always see private boats down in the PV area hitting kelp beds, but tying into the first question above, I'm not sure if PV is doable in my boat from MDR.

Thanks in advance to all.
krick is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2012, 09:30 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default re: Newbie boater looking for advice

Hi krick,

The net has lots of info on the safety equipment requirements, maps of fishing areas, discussion and information boards like ours .... but nothing will be more effective (in my opinion)than finding .... hopefully .... among your buddies..... someone who has owned and run a boat in the big salty here locally for some time. Some folks might be willing to buddy-boat with you to get you started too.